The College Decision (Part 2)

Deciding to transfer from Boston University was not a decision I made lightly. After plenty of time going through the pros and cons, this past month I became 100% positive this is the choice I need to make.

Telling my college friends I am leaving BU has not been easy, but I’ve realized how lucky I am to have people who support my decision and understand that it was not an easy one. This support is something I do not take for granted.

I could stay at BU and finish up these next two years, but I know that wouldn’t be fair to do to myself. BU has so many resources for a student studying public relations: amazing faculty, the huge alumni network, and plenty of post-grad opportunities. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t hesitant to leave this academic program. However, I finally understand that even with all these opportunities, it is not beneficial to stay at a school you know isn’t a fit—a place where you won’t be able to fully utilize the resources because simply put, it is not your place.

I’ve accepted that moving closer to home to attend a smaller college is not a bad thing. It doesn’t mean I failed in the city of Boston. It just means I’m taking a different path before I end up where I’m supposed to be (hint hint: when I make my return to the city). I’m confident in what lies ahead of me at Ithaca College and its notable communications program. I already feel welcomed by the faculty and community and I have yet to even step on the campus since my acceptance. Let’s just say I’ve stalked the school’s site a little too many times.

Last year around this time, I chose to stay another year at BU because I never wanted to leave with regrets of “what could have been.” I did not want to feel like I was running away from something just because it was a difficult adjustment.

I tend to think about the “what ifs” a little too often—what if I chose a different school two years ago? But I can’t play the “what if” game in this situation. The amount of knowledge and the education I have gained these past two years is invaluable. Not only through academic experience, but through life experience. It is this experience that led me to confidently choose Ithaca as my next home because I better understand who I am as a person and what I want in a school.

So why transfer now? I mean I am halfway through my college career…

I’m transferring because it’s time I made my happiness a priority. I have to set aside the vision I had for myself two years ago and make the choice that is right for me now, not the one that was right for me then.

Boston University is an amazing school. Yet BU doesn’t feel like my school. It’s not a fit. No, I’m not running away from BU because I can’t handle the difficulty of a college far from home. I’m not running from anything. Rather I’m running toward the next chapter of my life, happily.

I dreamed of moving to a city my whole life. I knew it was a risky choice when I decided to take this leap two years ago, but my mom always told me no matter where I decided to attend college, I was never stuck (Mom always knows best!). BU was a risk, but it was the right risk. I still believe at the time of my first college decision, BU was the place I should have been.

However, each day our situations change, our lives are faced with new challenges. We change. It’s as simple as that.

Two years ago, I made the right choice to come to Boston because that was where I should’ve been at that moment in my life. Just like today I’m making the right choice to attend Ithaca College.

Attending BU has been a learning experience and I will forever be grateful to the people I have met, the relationships I have built, and the teachers who have given me insight not just on communications but on life. Although my track record might show I have a two-year limit on creating life plans, I do believe that people need to make plans. We need goals—things we want to achieve in our lives. So keep planning! Plan what you want to do in life, but always remember that plans NEVER go the way you expect. That’s the beauty of life. Although it hasn’t been a perfect ride, I am who I am because of this, and I love that I have an opportunity to move forward with each decision I make.

So yes, I am thrilled for my next chapter! I’m beyond ready to continue making plans that will most likely change and letting life take me wherever the heck it wants me to go.

2 thoughts on “The College Decision (Part 2)

  1. You are a wonderf young lady. Don’t feel at all like you have failed. College should not be viewed as one place where you go to get a degree and then a job. Instead Colleges should be viewed as educational arenas where you go to learn and investigate oneself. Sounds to me like that’s exactly what you are doing. You are growing , risks are part of that, and as usual it sounds like you are knocking it out of the park. Proud of you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

