A Little Respect: An Open Rant About Personal Expression

I refuse to be silenced from sharing my beliefs and values for fear of being shamed or condescendingly put down. I have been raised to accept people who hold a different perspective than I, and to listen respectfully to their opinions. With this in mind, I don’t take ignorance lightly.

Recently I have noticed backhand comments that honestly make me sometimes feel belittled for having certain political and religious beliefs. As someone who wholeheartedly believes in everyone’s right to their own values and opinions, I also believe in the respect that should in turn be given to each party involved in the conversation or forum. I believe in the necessary phrase, “let’s agree to disagree.”

I am no better than anyone I encounter who shares a different opinion. But remember that you too are no better for yours. I have the utmost respect for people who have enough confidence to express themselves and their beliefs (particularly when they may be unpopular beliefs) because I know for a fact I don’t always have the ability to stand up and share mine when there is the fear of being judged.

We live in a country where you can and should have diverse sets of beliefs, but shouldn’t have that fear of being categorized or generalized into certain stereotypes. Maybe it’s an idealistic concept, but I just wish everyone could feel the same respect when sharing their values as I hope I give people when listening to their opinions. 

And end rant.. for now.

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

