“I Can’t Wait For…”

I can’t wait for summer. I can’t wait to be a senior. I can’t wait for college. I can’t wait for Friday. I can’t wait for break. I can’t wait to transfer. I can’t wait to graduate. I can’t wait for grad school. I can’t wait for my career to begin. I can’t wait to live in a city.

And the list goes on.

These are all statements that I’ve found myself saying far too many times throughout my life, for years. And I don’t think I am the only one who finds herself wishing away the present and hoping for the better day to come around.

Every single time something goes slightly off in my life, I inevitably start saying these same four words followed by one of my future goals. Yes it’s great to have goals, and great to look forward to moments, but this shouldn’t become a regular thing in our lives–we shouldn’t be wishing away our lives.

Things go wrong. Stuff happens (yeah, I censored myself there). This is a part of our lives. Our experiences—the good and the bad—are the stepping stones to those future moments that we are wishing will come far sooner than they actually should and will.

I know it’s a month early for New Year’s resolutions, but I think I have mine:

Live in the present.

I focus so much on both the good and bad moments of the past and I worry about the future. No matter how hard I try to convince myself this is no big deal, worrying about things that have passed and worrying about things that haven’t even happened yet does interfere with enjoying everyday in the moment.

So if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to shut off my computer now and go live in the present. And by that I mean I’m going to work on final presentations because for me right now, the present is Finals Week. And you know what, I’m not even going to say I can’t wait for Winter Break….

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

